ExtraTorrent - The Largest Bittorent System
Latest Articles
Most searched
Hot torrents
First Cams
View Torrent Info: John Wick Chapter 2 2017 HDTS NEW-VIDEO UnKnOwN
View Torrent Info: The LEGO Batman Movie 2017 HDTS V2 700MB x264-DiRG
View Torrent Info: Fifty Shades Darker 2017 HD-TS x264-CPG
View Torrent Info: Sleepless 2017 HDCAM x264-UnKnOwN
Hot torrents
XVID DIVX
View Torrent Info: Assassins.Creed.2016.HC.HDRip.XViD.AC3-ETRG
View Torrent Info: Vampyres.2015.BRRip.XViD-ETRG
View Torrent Info: Licks.2013.HDRip.XViD-ETRG
View Torrent Info: The.Headsman.2005.DVDRip.XviD.AC3-ETRG
Hot torrents
H264 X264
View Torrent Info: Allied.2016.1080p.BRRip.x264.AAC-ETRG
View Torrent Info: Rules.Dont.Apply.2016.1080p.BRRip.x264.AAC-ETRG
View Torrent Info: Assassins.Creed.2016.1080p.HC.HDRip.X264.AC3-EVO[EtHD]
View Torrent Info: Britney.Ever.After.2017.720p.HDTV.X264-UAV[ettv]
Hot torrents
BluRay, 4k UHD
View Torrent Info: Allied 2016 1080p BluRay x264 Multi DTSHD 5.1 -DDR
View Torrent Info: Rules Dont Apply 2016 1080p BluRay x264 Multi DTSHD -DDR
View Torrent Info: The.Expendables.3.2014.2160p.UHD.BluRay.HEVC10.HDR.Atmos7.1-DDR
View Torrent Info: Doctor Strange 2016 1080p BluRay x264 Multi DTSHD 7.1 -DDR
Hot torrents
Television
View Torrent Info: Bates.Motel.S05E01.WEB-DL.x264-FUM[ettv]
View Torrent Info: Supergirl.S02E13.HDTV.x264-LOL[ettv]
View Torrent Info: Quantico.S02E13.HDTV.x264-LOL[ettv]
View Torrent Info: The.Walking.Dead.S07E10.WEB-DL.x264-FUM[ettv]
View Torrent Info: Shivaay.2016.1080p.WEB-DL.H263.DD5.1.ESub-DDR
View Torrent Info: Fight To The Finish (2016) x264 720p WEB-DL Eng Subs {Dual Audio} [Hindi ORG DD 2.0   English 2.0] Exclusive By DREDD
View Torrent Info: Oyee (2016) 720p UNCUT HDRip x264 [Dual Audio] [Hindi DD 2.0 - Tamil 2.0] Exclusive By -=!Dr.STAR!=-
View Torrent Info: Trolls 2016 720p BluRay Hindi DD 5.1 x264-SnowDoN
30s
Chat
To add new messages please or Register for FREE
Warning! Use a VPN When Downloading Torrents!
Your IP Address is 5.34.183.217.   Location is Ukraine
Your Internet Provider and Government can track your torrent activity!  Hide your IP ADDRESS with a VPN!
ExtraTorrent strongly recommends using Trust.Zone VPN to anonymize your torrenting. It's FREE!
Get VPN Now for FREE!

ExtraTorrent > Articles > Australian Government Agency’s Opinion on Fair Use and Geo-Unblocking

Australian Government Agency’s Opinion on Fair Use and Geo-Unblocking

Australian Government Agency’s Opinion on Fair Use and Geo-Unblocking

Added: Tuesday, December 27th, 2016
Category: Bit Torrent Freedom > The Right To Share
Tags:ISP, Download, BitTorrent, MPAA, RIAA, copyright-infringement, file-sharing, Torrenting
The Australian government's Productivity Commission has released a final inquiry report, where it maintains the position that Australian citizens can use VPNs to access geo-restricted content. Talking about delivering fair use exceptions, the advisory body claims that objections of the copyright holders are based on self-interested assumptions only.

21bc356a9031a38cfb5bef381d2e33c6.th.jpg


The Commission recommended the government to allow citizens to access geo-blocked materials to be able to obtain the best deals on international content. The problem is that geoblocking forces Australians to pay higher prices for a lesser or later service than overseas users. The advisory body also recommended to introduce fair use provisions into local copyright legislation.

After the Commission released a draft report, copyright holders were fighting back, claiming that fair use would have a negative effect on content creation – for instance, the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry claimed that fair use would threaten innovation, disadvantage creators and spread legal uncertainty. Local celebrities presented similar arguments in their new December campaign.

However, the Commission’s position remains unmoved in its final version, and the agency believes that over time, both copyright owners and consumers will become comfortable in making judgments over what is and is not fair use. When talking about geoblocking, it says that prompt access to reasonably priced content is very important in the fight against digital piracy.

Thanks to TorrentFreak for providing the source of the article.

Posted by: 
SaM

Date:  Tuesday, December 27th, 2016



Comments (16) (please add your comment »)

1
posted by (2016-12-28 02:36:22)
LesM avatarDid I REALLY read what I think I read? Santa must have had something to do with it ....

2
posted by Blocked (2016-12-28 02:45:23)
chdr1 avataraussie`s can leagally use a V P N where is that trust.zone link lol

3
posted by Warned (2016-12-28 05:41:36)
manfromthisearth avatarIt was obviously manifestly UN FAIR to geo block people from the net...Isn't it exactly why this was created for to be in contact and get the latest news and best deals?
The Commission recommended the government to allow citizens to access geo-blocked materials to be able to obtain the best deals on international content.
I am glad and thankful the Aussie government did not buckle or fall for their tactics.....As I have stated the NET is FREE but we are forced to pay to access it, this is payment enough as far as I am concerned.

4
posted by (2016-12-28 10:14:04)
SOA avatarBetter than nothing at least we can use a VPN

5
posted by Kitty (2016-12-28 15:01:59)
Crash1 avatar@manNOTfromthisearth ... "As I have stated the NET is FREE but we are forced to pay to access it"
You have a LOT to learn about economics if you actually believe the drivel you're spouting!

To START with, Submarine data cable is EXPENSIVE to both lay and maintain (the Repair ships alone cost US250,000/day when at sea, and some jobs can last 2-3 weeks. Look up submarinecable dot com and count all the cables crossing the Atlantic ... with an ACTIVE fault line running down the centre that all those cables sit on top of), but without those cables the internet wouldn't exist (Satellite transmission has limited bandwidth).

As well as that, the infrastructure (Nodes, Servers, data-centers, wi-fi access points, etc) all use electricity that must be paid for, and the equipment must be regularly maintained and upgraded (just imagine what it would be like if the internet WASN'T upgraded, and we were still stuck with 56k modems?).
Then add the biggest expense of all ... the wages of all the people needed to install, maintain and repair all this equipment, and you'd have to agree that the Internet is EXPENSIVE AS HELL!!
(THAT'S why we have to pay to access it ... to offset the cost of the infrastructure and wages. Just like we have to pay for electricity, water, gas, rates, etc ... it's not to fill some executive's pocket [although some will end up there], it's to maintain the infrastructure.)

6
posted by Kitty (2016-12-28 15:22:15)
Crash1 avatarAs for this decision to continue to allow VPN access, I had little doubt that would be the final decision. Many people forget that the people MAKING these decision are also affected by the cr@ppy rules that some companies/countries inflict on us just because they think they can get away with it ... I think they've just found that THEY CAN'T, as we'll just bypass their restrictions with a VPN.
He was right about piracy and access too, many of us who pirate do so because the show/movie/game/program is not available locally, or has an artificial hold placed on it so we can't access it before certain dates. The biggest kick in the teeth we had/have is/was some DOWNLOADED games that cost up to 30% more for us to download than for the rest of the world (Diablo 3 was a good example, as well as some other Blizzard, Ubisoft, and Steam games). But that's no longer an issue with VPN's! (Of course, some of us pirate because we can't afford to pay Cinema prices to see a movie, and don't want to wait 3-4 months to hire the DVD/Blu-Ray)

7
posted by Site FriendET loverSuperman (2016-12-28 18:23:10)
leeroy88 avatarI'm Aussie. Glad that i can leagally use a V P N. Is this my Christmas present?

8
posted by (2016-12-28 20:18:32)
No avatarFinally, some common sense from the COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, a corporation posing as government. Giving its slaves some crumbs of free choice.

9
posted by (2016-12-29 02:33:32)
No avatarIts pretty pathetic isnt it - the government says they are going to get the ISP's to block the Torrent sites due to an Australian Federal Court ruling - now they say it you pay a few $'s a month for a VPN, it's all OK to do what we were doing anyway

10
posted by Trusted UploaderSite FriendET junkieET loverSupermanmen (2016-12-29 03:18:44)
analogkid6103 avatarAnd the arguement from the usual whiners was the same as they use for us and every other thing that they dont like. The future is either going to be open source. Or the opposite. And the old money is betting on the latter not the former.

11
posted by (2016-12-29 12:51:36)
No avatarfunny really isn't it when VHS 1st come out we would pass copies around so everyone could watch the movie etc.. no one made money from selling it etc.. even taping music off the radio.

do they really think they are going to stop us/it from happening couldn't then cant now, I find it strange that today there is more movies and TV being made than in all of history but they are crying poor if it wasn't putting food on their table they wouldn't be making it so ??

whats a VPN seriously I was using PIA for a year and why?? make them rich? my ISP blocked µtorrent so I just used googles IP.

the internet is bigger than any Gov. or Foxtel sorry Rupert no more cash from me you old wanker LOL

so we will see if they can control the monster they created to control us LOL

12
posted by (2016-12-29 20:41:30)
MyAmusement avatarGlad you wrote about this article as I have been worrying about my ISP blocking extratorrent access on me. The whole reason I continue to pay for broadband is to be able to come here and ocassionally watch YouTube. I wonder why they don't pick on our getting a laugh watching things there as well.

Being able to get the opportunity to see so many fantastic series and movies that rarely come out here until years later, if at all when they are from pay tv channels.

I liked the points/comments from both Zacman and Cibola. If I hadn't read this article, I would still be waiting for a notice or finding the site blocked and then having to grumble at the ISP shop. I also thought that the people who are always standing up for personal privacy, would've kicked up a stink here and nothing I saw mentioned them. I will be up the creek if I have to start paying for a VPN or any additional bill, just like everyone else I expect, so I hope the greedy buggars stop grabbing for more money and control of our private lives.

13
posted by (2016-12-30 00:21:13)
No avatarwho dls ozzy content anyway I'm an ozzy and apert from music it's all crap

14
posted by (2016-12-30 22:16:09)
No avatarI do everything off my android. Free vpn apps and private browsers allow me to visit any torrenting site without restrictions or having to pay a monthly fee for access. The decision to block Australians using torrenting sites is ridiculous! This will set the wheels in motion and before we know it, there will be a bunch of sites the government won't allow you to access. And how do they think it will curve piracy? People who download usually do it because they don't want to pay to see the film, TV show etc. So regardless you are not losing money because most of us wouldn't pay to see it in the first place.

15
posted by Site FriendET junkieET loverKittySunTurtle (2016-12-31 02:30:56)
Selsley avatarbobthedog, aussie stuff is sometimes better than that american rubbish
underbelly was a great series of historical dramas, and wentworth aint half bad
just look at 'the sullivans' lol

16
posted by Site FriendET junkieET loverKittySunTurtle (2016-12-31 02:33:44)
Selsley avatar@#12 they do geo block youtube



Articles Search
Most Popular Stories
Articles Categories
Articles Tags


Home - Browse Torrents - Upload Torrent - Stat - Forum - FAQ -
ExtraTorrent is in compliance with copyrights
2006-2017 ExtraTorrent5